Yale Bulletin and Calendar

June 25, 2004|Volume 32, Number 32|Four-Week Issue















Campus Notes

Immanuel Wallerstein, senior research scientist in the Department of Sociology, received his ninth doctorate honoris causa on May 13 from the Universidad Nacional Mayor de San Marcos (Lima), the oldest university in the Americas. The citation honors his contribution as "unquestionably one of the most influential thinkers in the field of the social sciences."

Dean Richard H. Brodhead has announced the appointment of Jasmina Besirevic-Regan as the next dean of Trumbull College. Besirevic-Regan received her Ph.D. in sociology at Commencement last month. She has presented papers on the sociology of genocide at a number of professional meetings and has been invited to speak at international conferences both at Yale and abroad. She is co-author, with Kai Erikson, the William R. Kenan Jr. Professor Emeritus of Sociology and American Studies, of "Echoes of War: Ethnic Conflict in Croatia and Serbia," which is under contract with Yale University Press. Besirevic-Regan has been program coordinator for the Council on European Studies of the Center for International and Area Studies.

Jeffrey R. Powell, professor of ecology and evolutionary biology and professor at the School of Forestry and Environmental Studies, has been elected president-elect of the Society for Molecular Biology and Evolution. The society is considered to be the leading international society concerned with molecular evolution.

Matthew C. Giancarlo, assistant professor of English, has been named by the National Humanities Center as a fellow for the 2004-2005 academic year. Fellows work individually on research projects and exchange ideas in seminars, lectures and conferences at the center's headquarters in North Carolina. The center is a privately incorporated independent institute for advanced study in the humanities. Giancarlo's project is titled "With One Voice: Parliament and Literature in Late Medieval England."

Graeme Berlyn, the E. H. Harriman Professor of Forest Management, was appointed president of the Biological Stain Commission at its June meeting in Rochester, NY. The objectives of the commission are, in part, to insure uninterrupted supply of dyes used in biological and medical applications; promote cooperation and dialogue among manufacturers, vendors and users of dyes for histochemical applications; and publish information concerning new or improved uses for biological dyes and related histochemical techniques.

Dr. Margaret Bia, professor of internal medicine, received a Pioneers in Transplantation Award from the Connecticut chapter of the National Kidney Foundation on April 8. She was cited for her "groundbreaking work in post-operative care for kidney recipients." Bia has been caring for renal transplant patients at Yale for 25 years and has contributed to the development of this field both scientifically and clinically. The author of 75 publications, including 19 books or book chapters, Bia has also trained fellows who now care for transplant patients.

Jennifer Klein, assistant professor of history, has been awarded the 2004 Hagley Prize in Business History by the Business History Conference for her book "For all These Rights: Business, Labor, and the Shaping of America's Public-Private Welfare State." The prize is given for "innovative studies that [have] the potential to expand the boundaries of the business history discipline." Klein received the award at the 50th anniversary meeting of the Business History Conference, which was held in Le Creusot, France, earlier this month. Previously, she had also received the Organization of American Historians' Ellis W. Hawley Prize for her book.

President Richard C. Levin has announced the following appointments: Vladimir Alexandrov, the B. E. Bensinger Professor of Slavic Languages and Literatures, as chair of the Department of Slavic Languages and Literatures; and Louis Goldstein, professor of linguistics, as chair of the Department of Linguistics. Levin also announced the following reappointments: Dr. Richard Edelson, professor of dermatology, as chair of the Department of Dermatology; Dr. Roberta Hines, the Nicholas M. Greene Professor of Anesthesiology, as chair of the Department of Anesthesiology; Dr. Richard Lifton, Sterling Professor of Genetics, as chair of the Department of Genetics; Dr. Pasko Rakic, the Dorys McConnell Duberg Professor of Neuroscience, as chair of the Department of Neuroscience; Joseph Schlessinger, the William H. Prusoff Professor of Pharmacology, as chair of the Department of Pharmacology; Dr. Robert Udelsman, the Lampman Professor of Surgery and Oncology, as chair of the Department of Surgery; and T. P. Ma, the Raymond John Wean Professor of Electrical Engineering, as chair of the Department of Electrical Engineering. All chairs will serve for three years, beginning July 1.

Paula E. Hyman, the Lucy G. Moses Professor of Modern Jewish History, was awarded the 11th annual Jewish Cultural Achievement Award in Scholarship by the National Foundation for Jewish Culture earlier this month in New York. Hyman was selected for "her scholarly contributions to the field of historical studies." She has been at Yale since 1987 and chaired the Jewish Studies Program for 13 years. Prior to that, she taught Jewish history at the Jewish Theological Seminary of America and became the first female dean of the Seminary College of Jewish Studies, now the List College. Author of several books, Hyman was a founding member of "Ezrat Nashim" and has worked toward women's equality for more than three decades. The National Foundation for Jewish Culture works with scholars and artists, cultural institutions and community agencies to enhance the quality of Jewish life in America through the arts and humanities.

Barbara Harshav, lecturer in comparative literature, has been awarded the triennial TLS-Porjes Prize for her translation of "The Labor of Life: Selected Plays" by Hanoch Levin. The prize of £1,000 will be awarded in September at the Society of Authors Literary Translation Prizes awards ceremony in London.

Owen Fiss, Sterling Professor of Law, received an honorary Doctor of Laws degree from the University of Toronto earlier this month. The citation stated that Fiss "is not only a great and distinguished scholar of the law, but he is, equally, a brilliant and dedicated teacher of it."

Sara Rockwell, professor of therapeutic radiology and pharmacology, and director of the Office of Scientific Affairs at the School of Medicine, was honored by the Department of Radiation Oncology and Kimmel Cancer Center at Jefferson Medical College/Thomas Jefferson University in Philadelphia as the second annual Virginia Logan Lecturer. The Virginia Logan Award was given to Rockwell for contributions to the field of tumor biology.


Grant to aid development of gene therapy for Parkinson's

Alumni elect new trustee

Historian Blight to direct Gilder-Lehrman Center

Student's 'Ride to Endure' will raise funds for cancer group


Library acquires papers of famed poet Joseph Brodsky

IN FOCUS: F&ES-Anthropology Combined Degree

Troup students creating own plays in Drama School program


Committee reviewing employee health benefits . . .

Orchestral movement: Shinik Hahm leaving post . . .

Ranis and Hathaway to research international topics as Carnegie Scholars

I. Richard Savage dies; noted for applying statistics to public policys

Sundance Lab director named interim head of playwriting department

Campus Notes


Bulletin Home|Visiting on Campus|Calendar of Events|In the News

Bulletin Board|Classified Ads|Search Archives|Deadlines

Bulletin Staff|Public Affairs|News Releases| E-Mail Us|Yale Home